Basic Rules of Volleyball - Double Contact on Setting
This rules of volleyball page explains one commonly mistaken rule - double contact on volleyball setting.
Case: Double Contact on Setting
One junior volleyball player sent us a question about the double hit.
She had been called for the double contact when setting the ball (on
the second contact).
Referee told her "there was too much spin on the ball". This player
went and examined the rule book and was confused because she didn't
find anything about the spin on it.
Basic Rules of Volleyball - Double Contact - Bad Call or Good Call?
This was absolutely a false call from a referee.
(It is quite common that referees incorrectly call off the set, when there is too much spin on it.)
There is no rule in indoor volleyball about the "spin on the ball."
What referee should call?
"Setter has committed to a double contact only, if setter's hands do not touch the ball simultaneously."
What referee should not call?
In indoor volleyball, if referee doesn't see a double contact, referee shouldn't call it.
Referee should not call a bad technique. (Even if it looks bad, referee
should not call it, unless there is an actual double contact.)
In other words it doesn't matter..
In reality referees call those balls fairly often - and probably
even the players feel they have committed a fault - even if according
to the rules they haven't.
- what direction the ball leaves the setter's hands..,
- how much there is a spin on the ball..,
- how bad the sound is... as long as the hands touch the ball simultaneously (there is no double contact.)
Basic Volleyball Rules - Double Hit in General
Double hit is ALLOWED on the first contact, when
- Serve receiving, or
When player serve receives the ball overhead, the double contact is
allowed. BUT it is NOT ALLOWED on the second contact when the player is
setting the ball!
Enjoy this page?
Click “Like” below!